Are all Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) indexed in the BCIN database?
All of AATA from Volume 6, 1966 to Volume 34 1997 should appear in BCIN. Some citations may be missing due to scanning error (scanning of the hard copy was done for volumes from 1966 to the mid 1980s). None of the special subject supplements have been entered.

Prior to 1966, the publication was entitled IIC Abstracts (Volume 1-5, 1955-1965) - all of these citations are in BCIN. Although the publication Abstracts of Technical Studies in Art and Archaeology (1943-1952) has not been entered into BCIN, Technical Studies in the Field of Fine Arts (1932-1942) citations have.

The Getty Conservation Institute will launch a new electronic service providing all of AATA on the Web by June 2002. Volumes 35 and 36 will be available only in hard copy until then.

For further information about AATA Online please contact the AATA Online office at the Getty Conservation Institute at aata@getty.edu.
       How do I obtain documents that I find in a BCIN search?
If you have access to a library (public, university, museum, etc.) ask your librarian to help you locate the documents.

You or your library, if needed, may request photocopies of articles, conference papers or chapters of books cited in BCIN, directly from the contributing libraries/documentation centres. Most contributors charge for this service. To view policies, fees and contact information for the contributors, click on Document Delivery on the BCIN home page. It is more difficult to obtain books; each institution has a policy about the loan of books.

Each database citation displays a 'Location of document' field if one or more of the contributors has the document in its collection. If you are not familiar with the abbreviations, check the List of Contributors on the BCIN home page.

If AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts) is cited as the originator of a record, but no locations are listed, check with your library to find out how you may obtain the document. You may also check with contributors in case they have the document, but have not listed it in BCIN.
       I can't find the MCIN (Conservation Materials) and ACIN (Conservation Suppliers) databases
       on the CIN Web site. Are they still available?

MCIN and ACIN were created by the Canadian Conservation Institute (CCI) and the Getty Conservation Institute (GCI) as part of the Conservation Information Network (CIN) project originally funded by the Getty Conservation Institute. CIN, made up of three conservation related databases (ACIN--suppliers, MCIN--materials and BCIN--bibliographic) was released to the public in 1987. Since 1987, each contributing partner has had various changes in priorities and resources. Unfortunately, the partners have not been able to maintain all three of the original databases and have concentrated their efforts on the bibliographic resource, BCIN. ACIN and MCIN have not been updated since 1992, and are no longer available.
Copyright ©

Les Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts (AATA) sont-ils entièrement indexés dans la base de données BCIN ?
Le AATA en entier, du Volume 6, 1966 au Volume 34, 1997 devrait apparaître dans la BCIN. Certaines références seront possiblement manquantes en raison d'erreurs de balayage (le balayage de la copie papier a été effectué, des volumes de 1966 au milieu des années 80). Aucun des suppléments portant sur la catégorie sujet n'a été ajouté.

Avant 1966, la publication était intitulée «IIC Abstracts (Volume-1-5, 1955-1965)» - toutes ces références sont dans la BCIN. Bien que la publication« Abstracts of Technical Studies in Art and Archaeology (1943-1952)» n'a pas été ajoutée à la BCIN, les références comprises dans la publication «Technical Studies in the Field of Fine Arts (1932-1942)» l'ont par ailleurs été.

Le Getty Conservation Institute inaugurera un nouveau service électronique qui mettra sur le Web l'ensemble du AATA, d'ici juin 2002. Les Volumes 35 et 36 seront néanmoins disponibles en version papier jusqu'à cette date.

Si vous désirez obtenir de plus amples enseignements sur AATA Online, veuillez communiquer avec le bureau d'AATA Online au Getty Conservation Institute, à l'adresse électronique aata@getty.edu.
      Comment puis-je obtenir des documents que je trouve grâce à une recherche dans BCIN ?
Si vous avez accès à une bibliothèque (publique, universitaire, d'un musée, etc.), demandez à votre bibliothécaire de vous aider à trouver les documents.

Au besoin, vous-même ou votre bibliothèque pouvez demander des photocopies d'articles, de communications ou de chapitres de livre cités dans BCIN, directement auprès des bibliothèques ou centres de documentation qui ont contribué à BCIN. La plupart des contributeurs font payer des frais pour ce service. Pour prendre connaissance des politiques, des frais et des coordonnées des contributeurs, cliquez sur le lien Livraison de documents dans la page d'accueil de BCIN. Il est plus difficile d'obtenir des livres, et chaque établissement a sa propre politique concernant le prêt de livres.

Un enregistrement de la base de données contient une zone Emplacement du document si au moins l'un des contributeurs possède le document dans ses collections. Si vous ne connaissez pas les sigles des établissements, consultez la Liste des contributeurs accessible à partir de la page d'accueil de BCIN.

Si les AATA (Art and Archaeology Technical Abstracts) sont cités comme source d'un enregistrement mais qu'aucun emplacement n'est indiqué, vérifiez auprès de votre bibliothèque comment vous pouvez obtenir le document. Vous pouvez aussi vérifier auprès des contributeurs s'ils ont le document, même s'ils ne l'ont pas indiqué dans BCIN.
      Je ne peux pas trouver la MCIN (Base de données sur les matériaux de conservation) et l’ACIN (Base de données sur
       les fournisseurs) dans le site Web du RIC ? Ces bases de données sont-elles toujours disponibles ?

La MCIN et l’ACIN ont été créées par l’Institut canadien de conservation (ICC) et le Getty Conservation Institute (GCI) pour faire partie du Réseau d’information sur la conservation (RIC), projet parrainé à l’origine par le Getty Conservation Institute. Le RIC, composé de trois bases de données en matière de conservation (ACIN –fournisseurs, MCIN–matériaux–et BCIN–bibliographiques)a été présenté au public en 1987. Depuis son inauguration, chaque partenaire contributeur a connu des changements sur le plan des priorités et des ressources. Malheureusement, les partenaires n’ont pas été en mesure de maintenir les trois bases de données originales, et ont concentré leurs efforts sur le maintien de la base de données bibliographiques, BCIN. ACIN et MCIN n’ont pas été mises à jour depuis 1992 et par conséquent, ne sont plus disponibles.
Droit d'auteur ©