The Bibliographic Database of the Conservation Information Network (BCIN) is in the process of being relaunched on a new platform. During the transition, the Conservation Information Network has implemented this temporary BCIN interface with keyword search capabilities. Please contact us if you have questions or comments.

Keyword search tips

The keyword search box will search all BCIN fields, including title, author/editor, abstract, subject terms, publication date, contributing BCIN institution, journal name, volume and issue numbers, BCIN number, ISBN and ISSN.

Narrowing and broadening your search results

You can make your search results more precise by adding more search terms, for example by adding an author's name to the subject terms in your keyword search. The more search terms you add, the narrower your results will be. If you would like to increase the number of search results, try adding fewer terms.

Limiting your search results by BCIN contributor

If you would like to limit your search results to the records from only one of the BCIN contributors, add their identifying acronym to your keyword search. For example, by adding the acronym “MCI” to your keyword search, you will limit your search results to only those records which match your keywords and were contributed by MCI, the Smithsonian's Museum Conservation Institute. Here is an example:

Iron gall ink MCI

The full list of identifying acronyms for BCIN contributors follows:

Note on Languages

Most of the data in BCIN is in English; however, you can search using subject keywords in both English and French. Titles remain in the language of the original publication and are followed by an English translation.

Date modified:

La Base de données bibliographiques du Réseau d'information sur la conservation BCIN est sur le point d'être relancée sur une nouvelle plateforme. Pendant la transition, le Réseau d'information sur la conservation a mis en œuvre cette interface temporaire de la BCIN qui est dotée de fonctions de recherche par mots clés. Veuillez nous contacter si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires.

Recherche par mots clés

La boîte de recherche par mots clés permet de faire une recherche dans tous les champs de la BCIN, y compris le titre, l'auteur ou le réviseur, le résumé, les termes thématiques, la date de publication, l'établissement contributeur de la BCIN, le nom de la revue, le volume et le numéro de publication ainsi que les numéros BCIN, ISBN et ISSN.

Restreindre et élargir la portée de sa recherche

Vous pouvez obtenir des résultats de recherche plus précis en ajoutant d'autres termes de recherche, par exemple en ajoutant le nom d'un auteur aux termes thématiques dans votre recherche par mots clés. Plus vous ajoutez de termes de recherche, plus vous affinez les résultats. Si vous souhaitez augmenter le nombre de résultats de recherche, utilisez moins de termes.

Limiter les résultats de sa recherche à un contributeur de la BCIN

Si vous souhaitez limiter les résultats de votre recherche aux entrées d'un seul contributeur de la BCIN, ajoutez son acronyme d'identification à votre recherche par mots clés. Par exemple, en ajoutant l'acronyme « MCI » à votre recherche par mots clés, vous limiterez les résultats de votre recherche aux entrées qui correspondent à vos mots clés et qui ont été fournis par le MCI, le Museum Conservation Institute du Smithsonian. Voici un exemple :

Encre ferro-gallique MCI

Voici la liste complète des acronymes d'identification des contributeurs de la BCIN :

Note sur la langue

La plupart des données de la BCIN sont en anglais. Cependant, on peut faire une recherche à l'aide de mots clés en anglais et en français. Les titres restent dans la langue de la publication originale et sont accompagnés d'une traduction en anglais.

Date de modification :